Skip Navigation

Cox returns to GB cycling squad

Cox returns to GB cycling squad
Kadeena Cox cycling

 Paralympic champion Kadeena Cox has been named as part of Great Britain's para-cycling squad for 2018.

 The 26-year-old, who doubled up to win medals in both athletics and cycling in Rio last year, took a year out from the sport after the Games to focus on academic studies.

Cox has also been named as part of England's athletics squad for next year's Commonwealth Games and plans to defend her Paralympic titles in both sports in Tokyo.

Other big names to be included are Jody Cundy,  Sophie Thornhill and Dame Sarah Storey, who gave birth to her second child in October, with the squad boasting a combined grand total of 26 Paralympic gold medals and 92 world titles.

Ben Watson is one of the new faces in the squad, after being initially noticed as part of British Cycling’s Track2Tokyo talent identification programme and going on to win silver at the Para-cycling Road World Championships in South Africa.

“The announcement of the podium and podium potential squads will really focus minds as we look ahead to the start of the qualification process for Tokyo 2020 with a number of key events in 2018," said British Cycling Para-cycling Programmes manager Jon Pett.

“The team has enjoyed a solid year on the track and the road in 2017 and we’ll be looking to build on that success next year.

“It’s great to see riders like Ben Watson added to the podium squad after a really promising year with the Foundation Programme. While the squad is full of Paralympic and world champions it’s absolutely vital that we are identifying and bringing new talent on to the programme throughout the cycle.”

Great Britain Cycling Team para-cycling squad for 2018

Podium Programme

James Ball
Steve Bate
Jon-Allan Butterworth
Kadeena Cox
Jody Cundy
Karen Darke
Adam Duggleby
Lora Fachie
Neil Fachie
Megan Giglia
Jon Gildea
Corrine Hall
Crystal Lane-Wright
Craig Maclean
Peter Mitchell
Louis Rolfe
Matthew Rotherham
Helen Scott
David Stone
Dame Sarah Storey
Sophie Thornhill
Ben Watson

Podium Potential

William Bjergfelt
Craig Collis-McCann
Melissa Nicholls
Simon Price
Elizabeth Saul
David Smith